ABSU and Others Qualify For Commonwealth Inter- Tertiary…..

Abia State University Uturu (ABSU), Kwara State University Malete (KWASU), Ebonyi State University Abakiliki (EBSU), University of Calabar and University of Abuja (UNIABUJA) have qualified to represent Nigeria in the Global Commonwealth Inter Tertiary Schools Debate Championship in Rwanda.

In a statement delivered by the Commonwealth Society of Nigeria, the winners of its Quiz and Debating Championship 2022, emerged after a special award ceremony held at the National Merit House, Maitama Abuja recently.

The Commonwealth Inter -Tertiary Schools Quiz and Debating Championship 2022 was first conducted at online where top 10 tertiary Institutions were shortlisted to compete at the national level.

The shortlisted schools for the national race were: Kaduna State University, University of Ibadan, Federal University of Agriculture Umudike, University of Calabar, Abia State University Uturu, Kwara State University Malete, University of Nigeria, University of Portharcourt, University of Abuja and Federal University of Technology Minna.

However, by the end of the competition, five schools won at the national level. They include: Abia State University Uturu, University of Abuja FCT, Ebonyi State University Abakiliki, Kwara State University Malete, and University of Calabar.

In a remark, the chief panelist, Professor Ben Ugo, from the Federal Ministry of Information -Nigeria, pointed that owing to the fact that each country is expected to produce three best speakers to represent them at the global level in Rwanda, that Chief Speakers of Abia State University, Ebonyi State University and Kwara State University have qualified to represent the country at the global level haven scored 97, 85 and 78 respectively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous post NAAT Commences Two Weeks Warning Strike
ASUU & FG yet to reach Agreement Next post ASUU, FG And The Shifting Blame Game